Gramophone Magazine Review

See Full Review
A review of Lark Quartet’s New Release – Composing America

Most brilliant is a pithy five-movement set adapted by percussionist Yousif Sheronick
from the 10 movements of John Adams’s John’s Book of Alleged Dances, written for the
Kronos Quartet and a digitised beat in 1994. The effect is of a floating musical crap game
in which the instruments shift around and take the floor at various times, getting down
and grimy in the moto perpetuo of’Dogiam’ and losing it completely (under immaculate
control, of course) in ‘Rag the Bone’.
Laurence Vittes -GRAMOPHONE MAY 2014